The Women in Architecture AIANY Committee recognizes recently licensed women architects at our annual WIA Holiday Party.  In addition to the festivities, we announce the recipient of our Recognition Award.  This award honors 1 recently licensed woman architect who demonstrates strong leadership skills and a commitment to the growth and advancement of our profession.  The winner receives a $1000 stipend towards travel and miscellaneous expenses at the AIA National Convention.

Eligible candidates must have achieved licensure between December 2014 and December of 2015 and live in the New York City area. The winner is announced during the WIA annual Holiday Party

Entry package requirements:

  • One essay of not more than 500 words describing  your leadership role in the professional community
  • 2 letters of recommendation
  • Proof of licensure

The Women in Architecture committee launched this new component to its annual Recognition program in 2010.  

Please plan to submit for 2015 if you expect to achieve licensure. Submission deadlines will be December 1st 2015

2014 Winner

2014 Award Winner is Jessie Turnbull, RA.  Ms. Turnbull  attended Princeton University & has published the book “Toyo Ito: Forces of Nature.” Jessie teaches at Parsons School of Design and continues to be active in public service. Please join us in congratulating and celebrating Jessie’s achievements.

2013 Winner

2013 Award Winner is Kimberly Dowdell, RA.  Ms. Dowdell is a co-founder of Social/Economic/Environmental Design “SEED”, she has remained dedicated and committed to the architectural profession while having a big influence on many junior architects.

2012 Winner

2012 Award Winner is Heidi Kippenhan, RA.  Ms. Kippenhan is an engaged mentor who has demonstrated leadership potential while successfully collaborating with design teams for two LEED Platinum buildings.  WIA Recognition Award jurors were Sara Caples AIA, Lynne Funk AIA and Carol Kurth, FAIA.

2011 Winner

2011 Award Winner is Meri Tepper, AIA, LEED AP BD+C.  Ms. Tepper has taken the role of mentoring to a new level.  WIA Recognition Award jurors Sara Caples AIA, Lynne Funk AIA and Carol Loewenson AIA were impressed with her committment to engage junior staff and participate as a regular mentor in day-to-day office operations.   

2010 Winner

2010 Award Winner is Motoko Shoboji, AIA.  Motoko has remained dedicated and committed to the architectural profession, more specifically to the Japanese architecture community.  Please join us in congratulating and celebrating Motoko’s achievements.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s